I Am With You

Isaiah 41:10
“Fear not, for I am with you;
Be not dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you,
Yes, I will help you,
I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’”

Life is filled with reasons to fear. We fear the unknown and the known, we fear change, and often fear that things will never change, we fear for ourselves, our families, and especially for our children. It would not take any of us very long to be crippled with fear, if we chose to dwell too long on any of those things. Isaiah is reminded, in the midst of frightening times, there are some pretty valid reasons not to fear. The first of the list is God’s promise to be with the believer.

“I am with you…”

This phrase is often repeated within Scripture, as it serves to comfort and encouragement those facing difficult and overwhelming circumstances. It was first promised to Isaac when the neighboring people were attempting to drive him out of Canaan. Later, when Jacob was fleeing for his life from Esau, he heard the same promise. Without family, friends, finances, or any idea of what the future holds, Jacob was promised the presence of the Lord. When young Jeremiah was commissioned as a prophet to the nations, God promised to be with him. Jesus made the same promise to us, as He sent us into the world with the message of the Gospel.

Whatever you may be facing, whatever fear, anxiety, worry, or fret may be welling up within you, remember that if you have trusted Christ, He promises to be with you, and  to never leave you or forsake you. Is there any challenge that is too big for you and God to handle?

Pastor Jim

One thought on “I Am With You

Leave a comment