I will Arise

Micah 7:8
“Do not rejoice over me, my enemy;
When I fall, I will arise;
When I sit in darkness,
The Lord will be a light to me.”

I have seen a a lot of exercise mantras designed to motivate behavior. They often read a bit like Micah’s declaration,

“Believe you can and you are half way there”

“I cannot be stopped”

“Stop saying I Can’t and start saying I will”

The big difference is that Micah is not claiming that the strength to succeed is found within. He realizes that if he Is going to rise above his current condition he will need to rely upon the strength that is provided by the Lord.

The prophet Daniel was a man who faced big challenges and had even bigger successes. We read that his journey began with resolve. He determined that he would not allow himself to be pulled down by the world he lived in, nor by the compromise of others. Instead he purposes in his heart not to defile himself. His success began with determination but it did not stop there, later we read of a different spirit that resided in Daniel. That spirit enabled him to overcome obstacles and accomplish great things. In other words, Daniel was filled with the Spirit of God and given heaven’s strength to overcome earth’s obstacles.

If we want to succeed in walking with the Lord, if we want to be people who are no long falling prey to constant wiles of the devil, the secret is found in accessing the power of God made available through the Spirit. Take time today to ask God to fill you with His Spirit and the strength the comes along with that. When you face an obstacle, do not rely upon yourself but pray for strength and see if you too will rise above.

Jim

20131218-094423.jpg

One thought on “I will Arise

  1. Jim I recently had a very intense prayer to the Lord.That experience has changed me , all of a sudden I felt at peace. Prayer will make you joyful, and you just can feel the holy Spirit. I am so thankful GOD is with me.I can’t do it without him. Debbie Curtis

Leave a Reply

